Engaged Research

The growing value placed on engagement between higher education institutions (HEIs) and wider society in research and innovation is evident in institutional strategy statements, as well as national and EU policies, and funding calls. The Irish Government’s Higher Education National Strategy 2030; the Higher Education System Performance Framework, and Innovation 2020: Excellence Talent,  Impact along with funding criteria from the Irish Research Council, Science Foundation Ireland, the Health Research Board, and the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation, Horizon 2020 (Pillar 3 / Marie Skłodowska-Curie) all place significant weight on the need for greater engagement with public research stakeholders, including public or professional service and product users, policy makers, civil and civic society organisations (CSOs) and other actors.

It is within this policy context that in 2015 the Campus Engage Steering Committee initiated consultation with HEI Presidents, Registrars, Vice Presidents for Research, the Irish Research Council, and civic and civil society, focused on how to collaboratively advance engaged research practices, to support all stakeholders, the implementation of policy, as well as meet national EU Horizon 2020 targets, for obtain maximum societal impact.

It became apparent that a significant information gap existed regarding guidelines, best practice methods, and other resources for engaged research stakeholders. As a result, the Steering Committee establish a national, inclusive working group to kick start a project that would help to address this gap. This led directly to the establishment of the interdisciplinary Campus Engage, Engaged Research Working Group, comprising representatives and engaged researchers from all the universities in Ireland and DIT. If you would like to find out more about Campus Engage's work in this are please contact; Kate Morris, Campus Enagage, kate.morris@iua.ie

Click here to view the Engaged Reseach report. 

If you would like to speak to a higher education working group member please contact one of the following Engaged Research Working Group Members

University of Limerick

Prof Maura Adshead

Campus Engage, IUA Kate Morris

Trinity College Dublin

Sarah Bowman

Dublin City University

Dr Padraig Murphy

Maynooth University

Prof Sinead McGilloway

National University of Ireland Galway

Ann Lyons

University College Dublin

Prof Joe Carthy

Dublin Institute of Technology

Dr Catherine Bates

University College Cork

Dr Catherine O'Mahony