Campus Engage Steering Committee Members

The Campus Engage Steering Committee consists of nominated representatives from all Irish Universities and the Dublin Institute of Technology. The Committee meets on a quarterly basis, at the Irish Universities Association, Merrion Square. The role of the Steering Committee covers strategic development of civic engagement, governance and oversight.


Prof Fred Powell (Chair), University College Cork 

  Prof Fred Powell is Head of the School of Applied Social Studies at University College, Cork, from 1989-2014. He was appointed Dean of Social Science at UCC from 2008-2014.  He is chair of the Board of the M.Plan and Chair of the PRTLI4-funded Institute for Social Sciences in the 21st Century (ISS21) at UCC.

Prof Ray O'Neill, Maynooth University

Prof Ray ONeill

  Prof. Ray O’Neill is Vice President for Innovation at Maynooth University. Ray's remit is to promote new initiatives across the University.

Catherine Lynch, Dublin Institute of Technology


Catherine Lynch is the Access and Civic Engagement Manager in Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT). 

Prof Paula Murphy, Trinity College Dublin

Ray Oneill


Professor Paula Murphy is the Registrar of Trinity College Dublin. Paula is also Professor in Developmental Biology, in the School of Natural Sciences (Zoology Discipline).

Prof Joe Carthy, University College Dublin

        Professor Joe Carthy holds a BSc and PhD in Computer Science and a Graduate Diploma in University Teaching and Learning from UCD. He has been a UCD academic for over 30 years. He was appointed College Principal and Dean of Science in 2011, having previously served as Head of the School of Computer Science and Informatics for four years. He was first elected to the Governing Authority in 2012 and re-elected in 2013.

Lorraine McIlrath, National University of Ireland Galway

Lorraine McIlrath

  Lorraine is Coordiantor of Community Knowledge Initiative (CKI) at the National University of Ireland Galway.  Lorraine is a Board member of the Talloire Network and most recently established Europe Engage, a pan-European initiave to promore university civic and community across EU member States. Lorraine founded Campus Engage in 2007, is a peer reviewer on a number of higher education journals, and has recieved numerous awards for civic engagement including the MacJannet Prize for Global Citizenship.

Dr Vivienne Patterson, Higher Education Authority


Dr Vivienne Patterson is Head of Skills and Enterprise

Engagement  at the Higher Education Authority. 


Kate Morris, National Coordinator, Campus Engage

  Kate is National Coordinator of Campus Engage.

Prof Ronaldo Munck, Dublin City University

Ronaldo Munck

  Ronaldo is Head of Civic Engagement at Dublin City University. Ronaldo holds visiting chairs in development studies at the University of Liverpool, St Mary’s University in Nova Scotia and the University of Norköping in Sweden. Prof Munck is currently the Irish represnetaive on the International Consortium for Higher Education, Civic Responsibility and Democracy.


Lewis Purser, Irish Universities Association

Lewis Purser


Lewis is Director of Academic affairs at IUA. From 1998-2005 he was programme manager at the European University Association. Lewis has worked various higher education institutions in Hungary, Romania and Bosnia-Herzegovina, and with several United Nations agencies in educational, health and social fields.

Bernie Quillinan, University of Limerick

  Bernie Quillinan, Civic Engagement Champion and Senior lecturer in Education and Health at the University of Limerick.Bernie currently represents the University of Limerick on the management committee of the All Ireland Institute of Hospice and Palliative care (AIIHPC) and chairs the AIIHPC Education Steering Group. Member at Healthy Ireland Council, Department of Health, Ireland